Compétition

Les championnats nationaux aux USA passionnent


Image

Les Haydenettes jouaient les premiers rôles dans la catégorie Senior. /Credits : Roy Ng Photography 

Les équipes américaines ont écrit l'histoire lors des championnats nationaux 2018 qui se déroulaient à Portland, dans l'Oregon. Les athlètes sont venus de tout le pays pour participer à l'événement. Les enjeux étaient élevés, mais la tension l'était encore plus. Retour sur cette compétition majeure. 


L'événement a commencé déjà jeudi avec la catégorie Juvénile. Cette division est particulièrement unique car elle regroupe les plus jeunes patineurs synchro, l'avenir du sport. Les Mini Mates de Lexington, Massachusetts et du Hayden Skating Club ont mené la compétition avec un score de 48,38. Leur programme "BeetleJuice" fut rapide et doté de bons éléments. Les Skyliners ont terminé à la 2ème place avec leur programme «Hello Dolly» (48,07). Ce programme était aussi très amusant à regarder car il démontrait beaucoup de maturité et de vitesse. Les équipes d'Elite ont terminé à la troisième place avec leur programme «Nurse». Ce programme avait beaucoup de caractère. Starlights "Cha-cha" s'est frayé un chemin vers la 4ème place avec une performance très énergique. 



Après la division juvénile, c'était aux équipes intermédiaires de s'élancer. Les Skyliners ont été détrônés cette année. En effet, Teams Elite a écrit l'histoire pour la première fois en remportant le championnat national dans cette catégorie. Leur programme thématique intitulé "Boxer" a atteint la première place et ils ont reçu un total de 69,75 points. Les Skyliners ont suivi avec leur programme éblouissant sur la "Famille Addams" totalisant 60,28 points. Ice Chips a également bien évolué en présentant un programme qui l'a mené à la médaille de bronze. Le Team Del Sol a conservé sa médaille d'étain pour la deuxième année consécutive. 



Puis, ce fut au tour des programmes courts juniors. Un événement incontournable. Même si les équipes ont d'ores et déjà été qualifiées pour les mondiaux juniors, les nationaux sont toujours très importants et chaque équipe se bat pour ramener une médaille nationale. Cette année, les formations ont présenté de bons programmes, et il y avait quelques nouvelles équipes dans la division cette année, à l'instar de DC Edge, Philadelphia Symmetry, Northernettes et Team Excel. Ces équipes se sont montrées très redoutables et ont beaucoup de potentiel pour l'avenir.

Les Skyliners ont patiné un programme émotif, puissant et propre. Tous les spectateurs se souviendront probablement de cette performance très bien exécutée. Skyliners a obtenu une moyenne historique de 71,10 points, écrivant aussi l'histoire. Les Lexettes ont patiné un bon programme sur "Nashville" avec beaucoup d'interprétation, plaçant l'équipe en deuxième position avec un total de 60.80. Starlights a présenté un programme frais sur "Shakira". Cette équipe a vraiment parcouru un long chemin cette saison. Avec 57,23 points, l'équipe termine troisième. Chicago Jazz se classe quatrième avec 52,29 points grâce à un programme techno («All Night») patiné dans des robes brillantes. Les Hockettes sont 5èmes avec 42,45 et Fond du Lac Blades 6ème avec 39,12 points. Vendredi, le podium était toujours possible pour n'importe laquelle de ces équipes.



La journée de vendredi a commencé avec la division Novice. Même si cette catégorie regroupe de jeunes athlètes, le niveau de compétition reste très élevé.

Skyliners Novice est devenu champion national avec sa performance "Phantom of the Opera" (72,11 points). Ce programme a présenté beaucoup de maturité pour un niveau novice et a été très rapide. Skyliners Novice a d'ailleurs beaucoup de similitudes avec son équipe junior en ce qui concerne l'exécution et la vitesse. À la 2ème place: Ice Mates, avec son programme thématique "Western". Les patineurs ont emmené le public dans un véritable rodéo. Ils ont gagné 69,03 points. Team Image de Yonkers, New York, a remporté le bronze pour la première fois de sin histoire avec un programme féroce sur "Wonder Woman". Ce qui est également unique à propos de cette équipe, c'est que les patineurs ont joué dans un clip vidéo avec Major Lazer. Ils ont ainsi su faire connaître le patinage synchronisé! 



Les programmes courts Seniors ont suivi, et avec 6 équipes engagées, la compétition allait être féroce pour sélectionner l'équipe nationale.

Ce sont les Crystallettes, médaillées d'argent en 2017 et qui patinaient l'an dernier en tant que Team USA 2, qui ont débuté. L'équipe a présenté un très bon programme court et a récolté 58,58 points, ce qui les a placés au quatrième rang après la fin des programmes courts vendredi soir. Adrian College a suivi et a également présenté une très bonne performance avec un score de 51,56. Adrian est en train de devenir une équipe très forte, ils ont eu deux compétitions internationales cette année auxquels ils ont eu de bons résultats. Cette équipe a beaucoup de potentiel pour les années à venir. Cal Gold a suivi et a totalisé 43,89 points.

Skyliners a ensuite patiné son programme "I was Here". Ce programme est très motivant et a un message fort. L'équipe a su envoûter la foule. Ils ont gagné 66,08 points. Les Haydenettes ont suivi avec leur programme court. Les Haydenettes ont été champions nationaux en titre pendant de nombreuses années et ont été Team USA 1 aux championnats du monde. Cette équipe est sans aucun doute, très impressionnante. Ils ont patiné un très beau programme et ont obtenu un score élevé de 73,17 points. Miami University a présenté leur version techno de "Phantom of the Opera" avec vitesse et émotion. Miami se battent cette année pour une place aux Mondiaux. Ils ont tenu la troisième place provisoire avec 64.54. Le classement était donc le suivant: Hayden en tête, Skyliners, Miami University, Crystallettes, Adrian College et Cal Gold.



Les programmes libres juniors fut l'autre gros événement du vendredi soir. Les équipes sont venues terminer leur saison en beauté.

À la sixième place, les Hockettes qui ont présenté avec leur programme libre sur "Cher". Fond du Lac Blades a patiné son programme sur "Robin Hood" avec beaucoup d'énergie et ça a très bien marché pour eux car ils terminent avec la cinquième place. Chicago Jazz a patiné élégamment dans des robes violettes et a gagné un score de 139.42 points. Ils terminent à la 4ème place.

Starlight remporte le bronze avec un programme très fort et sombre sur le thème "Raven". C'est vraiment incroyable de voir à quelle vitesse et à quel point cette équipe a grandi au cours des dernières années. Les Lexettes arrivent en deuxième position avec leur programme jazzy sur "La La Land". Ce programme est tellement amusant à regarder et donne envie de se lever et de danser avec eux sur la glace.

Le programme intense et sophistiqué des Skyliners sur "Swan Lake" était magnifique. Il n'est pas étonnant qu'ils soient Team USA 1 chez les Juniors. Leur programme est rempli de beaucoup d'interprétation et de mouvements qui symbolisent un véritable cygne noir. 


We have landed. It’s go time. #pumpedforportland

Une publication partagée par Hockettes Junior (@hockettesjunior) le


Samedi, dernier jour de compétition, la catégorie adulte s'est élancée avec le Team Excel remportant l'or, les Crystallettes recevant la médaille d'argent, Esprit de Corps remportant la médaille de bronze et DC Edge remportant l'étain.

La compétition Collegiate fut l'un des événements les plus intéressant de tout le week-end. Michigan State a terminé 4ème avec un score de 70,52. Miami a reçu le bronze avec un programme baptisé "Tina". Miami a été déjà 11 fois champions nationaux. Adrian, une équipe d'outsiders, est arrivée cette saison et a conquis la médaille d'argent avec un score de 84,84. C'était la première médaille nationale d'Adrian Collegiate. Enfin, Michigan University est très connue pour ses programmes impertinents patinés avec beaucoup de vitesse. Cette année, ils sont montés sur le podium et ont gagné l'or pour la deuxième année consécutive. Leur programme "Spider" a permis de totaliser la meilleur note: 91.48 points. 



Le week-end s'est clôturé avec les programmes libres Seniors. La tension était palpable puisque chaque équipe voulait obtenir une qualification pour les championnats du monde. Toutes les équipes ont poussé la limite et les résultats ont été incroyables.

Le beau programme d'Adrian baptisé "Dreams" a été patiné avec beaucoup de finesse. Il y a sans aucun doute un grand avenir pour cette équipe et ça va être tellement incroyable de voir cette transformation. Le programme «Diversité» de Crystallettes parle de la différence et des problématiques à ce sujet. Leurs robes leur ont posé quelques problèmes, notamment avec les strass qui ont causé quelques déductions. Le programme "Showgirls" de Miami University fut lui aussi très éblouissant. Ils ont terminé avec le bronze avec un total de 182,99 points.

Les Skyliners Senior, qui jouent les premiers rôles depuis quelques années, ont présenté "Cleopatra" avec beaucoup de bras, et une belle qualité de patinage. La chorégraphie et la musique sont très originales. Ils ont gagné la médaille d'argent grâce à un score de 185.86 points. Quant aux Haydenettes, ils sont devenus champions nationaux pour la 26ème fois en totalisant 204.05 points. La célèbre équipe ne cesse jamais d'impressionner grâce à leurs compétences en patinage, leur exécution et leur vitesse. Un plaisir. Les Skyliners et Haydenettes sont donc en piste pour les championnats du monde seniors 2018. 



Résultats - TOP 3

U.S. Synchronized Skating Championships 2018
Portland (USA)
FEB 22, 2018 - FEB 24, 2018

Senior
TEAM Score
1Haydenettes (USA)204.05
2Skyliners (USA)185.86
3Miami University (USA)182.99

Junior
TEAM Score
1Skyliners (USA)175.69
2Lexettes (USA)158.88
3Starlights (USA)147.59

Novice A
TEAM Score
1Skyliners Blue (USA)72.11
2Ice Mates (USA)69.03
3Team Image (USA)63.62

Intermediate
TEAM Score
1Teams Elite (USA)69.75
2Skyliners (USA)60.28
3Capital Ice Chips (USA)58.71

The Most Exciting US Nationals

The Haydenettes were amongst the best teams in the Senior category. / Credits: Roy Ng Photography

History was made at the most recent US Nationals held in Portland, Oregon. Teams came all across the country to compete in the event. Stakes were high, but tensions higher.

Thursday started the event with Juvenile. This division is especially unique since it is the youngest group of synchronized skating, and it is the future of the sport. Mini Mates from Lexington, Massachusetts and from the Hayden Skating Club led the division with a score of 48.38. Their program themed “BeetleJuice” was filled with lots of fast skating and strong elements, which made for an exciting and performed skate. Skyliners trailed closely behind with a 48.07 to “Hello Dolly.”This program was also very fun to watch and it carried a lot of maturity and speed for a juvenile team. Teams Elite claimed third with their “Nurse” program. This program had a lot of extra elements that provided lots of character, and made it fun to watch. Starlights “Cha-cha”ed their way to the pewter with their high energy skate and earned points. 

Following the Juvenile division was the Intermediate division. Skyliners were dethroned of their Intermediate championship and Teams Elite made history for the first time winning the championship in Teams Elite history. Their “Boxer” themed program hit the top mark and they received 69.75 points. Skyliners followed behind with their dazzling “Addams family” program with 60.28 points. Ice Chips sophistically skated to a “growing up” themed program which led them to the bronze medal, and Team Del Sol retained their pewter medal for the second consecutive year to their “French” themed program. 

Junior short followed after a quick ice resurface and this was one must see event. The junior world teams had already been announced, but Nationals is always still a bloodbath. Multiple teams still want that Championship title regardless if they go to worlds this year. All of the teams had strong showings, and there was a couple of new teams to the division this year including DC Edge, Philadelphia Symmetry, Northernettes, and Team Excel. These teams were also very strong and have lots of potential for the future in the division. 

Skyliners skated an emotional, strong and clean program. This program was one every audience member will probably remember for the rest of their life. It was so beautifully executed, this team never fails to disappoint. Skyliners earned a 71.10 an all time Skyliners Junior high, and broke history. Lexettes skated a clean and sharp “Nashville” program. This program had lots of interpretation, placing the team in second with a 60.80. Starlights skated a strong and upbeat short to “Shakira.” This team has truly came a long way this season in terms of Starlights Junior History. Placing the team in third, they earned 57.23 points. Chicago Jazz sat in fourth with 52.29. Their dresses were as bright and hot as their themed “All Night” techno program. Hockettes places fifth with 42.45 and Fond du Lac Blades held sixth with 39.12 points. The podium was still up for grabs by any of these teams. 


Friday’s events started with the Novice division. This division has a more constructive age limit like the juvenile division, but competition still runs very high.

Skyliners Novice became back to back National Champions with their “Phantom of the Opera” program and 72.11 points. This program carried a lot of maturity for a novice level and was very fast. Skyliners novice carries a lot of similarities to their junior team when it comes to execution and speed. Ice Mates, with their “Western” themed program skated very sharply and had lots of attack. This program had lots of interpretation which also made it feel as if you were in a rodeo with these skaters. They earned 69.03 points. A new podium placer and history maker took the bronze medal. From Yonkers, New York, Team Image claimed the bronze with a fierce “Wonder Woman” program. What's also unique about this team is they got to star in a music video with Major Lazer, and spread awareness about synchronized skating! Pewter was claimed by Teams Elite which was also history with their beautiful Lady Gaga themed program and score of 62.98 points. 

Senior short followed Masters, and with only 6 teams entered it was going to be a fierce competition for the selection of the World Team. The top two teams are usually selected and there was no jokes being placed in this event. Every team had a really strong skate, but it came down to the bits and pieces of the programs.

Crystallettes, last year’s Team USA 2 and National Silver medalist started the division and had a very strong skate to their themed program and earned 58.58 points this put them in fourth after short concluded. Adrian followed and also had a very strong performance with a score of 51.56. Adrian is becoming a very strong team, they had two internationals this year, and had strong showings at both. This team is not done yet, and they have a lot of potential for the years to come. Cal Gold followed and earned 43.89 points and then there was an ice resurface. 

The second half of senior was an absolute massacre. These three teams had strong showings all year, each placing at every competition and international. Skyliners started with their “I was Here” program. This program is very motivational and has a strong message, the team did not miss a single beat and got the crowd into it as well. They earned 66.08 and we're sitting in first.

Haydenettes followed with their short program. The Haydenettes have been reigning National Champions for multiple years, and have been to Worlds consecutively. This team is no doubt, very impressive. They skated very strong and earned a high score of 73.17. Miami University followed with their techno Phantom of the Opera. Miami was clear they wanted a spot at Worlds this year and it was shown in their skate. This program was very nicely performed with lots of speed and emotion. They held the third with 64.54. The standings after with Hayden leading, Skyliners, Miami University, Crystallettes, Adrian College, and Cal Gold. 


Junior Long followed and this event was no playground. Teams came to finish their season strong. All the teams pushed it to the next level, and this made for one of the most exciting events of the night.

Hockettes “Cher” program was skated with such sass and attitude and ended them in 6th place with a total score of 114.36. Fond du Lac Blades skated to their  “Robin Hood” program with lots of attacks and it worked very well for them. This landed them the fifth place spot and some major respect. Chicago Jazz skated elegantly with their purple dresses and earned a score of and the pewter medal (139.42).

Starlight’s earning the bronze and with a very strong long program. Their “Raven” themed program was very dark and eloquent. It’s truly been amazing to see how fast and how much this team has grown in the past couple of years. This gave them the bronze medal, and a future legacy for the team. Lexettes came in second with their jazzy “La La Land” program. This program is so much fun to watch and makes you want to get up and dance with them on the ice. Skyliner’s intense and sophisticated “Swan Lake” program was simply stunning. It is no wonder that they are Junior Team USA 1. Their program is filled with lots of interpretation and movements that symbolize an actual black swan. It is so amazing to watch and you can never truly take your eyes away from it. 

We have landed. It’s go time. #pumpedforportland

Une publication partagée par Hockettes Junior (@hockettesjunior) le

Saturday and the final day of competition started with the Adult division with Team Excel winning the division, Crystallettes receiving the silver medal, Esprit de Corps earning the bronze and DC Edge getting the pewter. 

Collegiate followed Adult, and this division made lots of history. One of the most epic seasons for a lot of teams in the Collegiate event. Last year’s National Champions came back ready to keep their title while Miami University and Adrian College and many teams were also hungry for the championship. This made for one of the most fierce and strong events of the whole competition.

Michigan State claimed their pewter again with a score of 70.52. Miami received the bronze with a sassy “Tina” program. Miami has always been a strong contender for the podium at Nationals. They were 11 consecutive time National Champions until 2017. Adrian an underdog team came and conquered for the silver medal with a score of 84.84. This was Adrian's first national medal, and highest placement of the history of Adrian Collegiate. University of Michigan is very known for their sassy programs that provide lots of edge and speed. This year they topped off the podium and won for the second consecutive year. Their sharp “Spider” program earned them 91.48 and a start of a future legacy.

Senior followed, and this division was going to be a serious battlefield. Everyone wanted that World Team spot. All the teams pushed the limit and the results were amazing.

Adrian’s beautiful program about “Dreams” was skated with such sophistication, there is a large future for this team and it’s going to be so amazing to see this transformation. Crystallettes “Diversity” program speaks a message about being different, and how it’s okay. They’re dresses never fail to disamaze us, but similar to Porter there were some rhinestone malfunctions that caused some deductions. Miami University’s “Showgirls” program is very dazzling. The dresses and interpretations are so amazing. Miami performs this program like it is truly a club and it is very entertaining to watch. They ended with the bronze with a total of 182.99 points.

Skyliners Senior has been coming on the radar very up and coming these past few years and this year was the year they finally made history. Skyliner’s “Cleopatra” program is beautifully skated with lots of arms, and nice extensions. The choreography and music cut is insane. They earned the silver medal and a score of 185.86. Haydenettes became 26 time National Champions and earned 204.05. Haydenettes never fail to impress in their skating skills, execution, and speed. It was truly a treat to watch their skate. 

Full results 

Jura Synchro wants to remain a free and quality media for synchronized skating fans around the world.

You now have the opportunity to support people who commit voluntarily to this wonderful sport, give their time, analyze and write articles for Jura Synchro. Did you like the news above? Support now Sophie Davis who wrote this article by giving a tip through the secure PayPal platform. This is very easy and depending on your country and using a computer you do not even need an account to reward your correspondent; only a credit card.

Whatever the amount, 2$, 5€, 9£ or more... all the profits will be redistributed to Sophie Davis . Do not hesitate and help now!